You are here

Шри Чинмой

sri_chinmoy.jpg

Шри Чинмой родился в Восточной Бенгалии (Индия) в 1931 году. Он является одним из самых плодотворных писателей на английском языке, написавшим свыше 1600 изданных книг. Цель его книг - направлять читателей в их путешествии к самораскрытию и счастью,  разъяснять вечные учения о духовном знании и давать ясное видение того, как в наше время достичь всемирной гармонии.

Шри Чинмой переехал в Нью-Йорке в 1964 году, где он жил до своей кончины в октябре 2007 года. Его первая книга "Медитации: пища для души" была опубликована в 1970 году. Многие из книг Шри Чинмоя состоят из его публичных выступлений, которые позже были записаны в письменном виде. Среди таких книг есть лекции в университетах, речи в штаб-квартире Организации Объединенных Наций и многочисленные ответы на вопросы своих учеников и представителей общественности.

Будучи духовным учителем, Шри Чинмой столкнулся с парадоксом  использования литературных выражений для выражения "невыразимого", поскольку Высшая Истина выходит далеко за пределы слов и понятий. Тем не менее, перо и язык обладают неоспоримой силой вдохновлять, возвышать и раскрывать. В своих трудах Шри Чинмой подчеркивал, что осознание истины может произойти только тогда, когда человек выходит за ограничения ума. Однако, когда ум сталкивается с высокими идеалами, ум может взглянуть за пределы области обыденного. Чтобы получить максимальную пользу от своих произведений, Шри Чинмой советовал читать их "сердцем", так что наша интуиция, чувства и внутренняя мудрость также могли пробудиться и отозваться.

Шри Чинмой подчеркивал, что не только с помощью книг можно просветлить ум. В медитации, например, он предпочитал давать наставления в безмолвии, так как именно в тихом спокойствии ума наиболее эффективно передаются тонкие учения духовности.

Любимый стиль Шри Чинмоя - поэзия. Как он выразился:

“Я всегда говорю, что человек пишет прозу, но это Бог пишет поэзию в человеке и через него.” [1].

В основном, именно в этом виде проявлялась более поздняя литературная деятельность Шри Чинмоя. К концу своей жизни Шри Чинмой написал более 50 000 афоризмов как часть своего проекта "Семьдесят семь тысяч деревьев служения". Он начал этот проект в 1998 году, планируя написать 77 000 афоризмов. Эта серия афоризмов последовала за предыдущей серией 10 000 коротких стихов под названием "Десять тысяч цветов пламени", которую он завершил в 1983 году, и другой серией из 27 000 коротких стихов под названием "Двадцать семь тысяч ростков устремления", которая была завершена в 1998 году.

“Чтобы написать стихотворение, поэт должен перенестись в сферу музы и потерять себя там. Он должен быть как пламя, сжигающее всё, кроме самого себя.” [2].

- Шри Чинмой

В книгах Шри Чинмоя также множество историй и пьес, содержащих поучительные наставления о жизни. Многие из них основаны на традиционных народных рассказах. Многие пьесы написаны об известных духовных личностях. Пьеса "Сиддхартха становится Буддой" неоднократно ставилась в театрах и была весьма популярна у широкой аудитории.

Произведения Шри Чинмоя получили высокую оценку ученых, профессоров и писателей всего мира. Среди наград Шри Чинмоя за литературные достижения - золотая медаль в области литературы от Международной академии Лютеции в Париже и литературная награда за высокие достижения Общества Писателей ООН (1993). Шри Чинмою также вручали многочисленные почетные степени за его роль в содействии развитию всемирной гармонии через литературу и другие области.

Шри Чинмой покинул тело 11 октября 2007 года. Тем не менее, до сих пор выходят новые книги, составленные из не публиковавшихся письменных и аудио материалов.

Подробнее:

You are here

About Sri Chinmoy

sri_chinmoy.jpg

Sri Chinmoy was born in East Bengal, India in 1931. He is one of the most prolific writers in the English language, having authored over 1,550 published books in his lifetime. The purpose of his literature is to guide readers in their journey towards self-discovery and happiness, to elucidate the timeless teachings of spiritual knowledge and to lay out a clear vision for the achievement of world harmony in our time.

Sri Chinmoy moved to New York City in 1964, where he lived until his passing in October 2007. His first book Meditations: food for the soul was published in 1970. Many of Sri Chinmoy’s books originate from his public talks, which were later transcribed into written form. These include lectures from university tours, speeches delivered at the United Nations headquarters, and numerous question-and-answer sessions with his students and members of the public.

As a spiritual master, Sri Chinmoy faced the paradox of using literary expression in order to reveal the “inexpressible” – for the Supreme Truth lies far beyond the reach of words and concepts. Nevertheless, the pen and the tongue have an indisputable power to inspire, to elevate, and to unveil. In his writings, Sri Chinmoy stressed that the realisation of truth can only occur when mental limits are transcended. However, by being presented with high ideals the mind can lift its gaze beyond the domain of the ordinary. To get the most benefit from his writings, Sri Chinmoy recommended reading them ‘with the heart’, so that our intuition, feeling and inner wisdom can also awaken and respond.

Sri Chinmoy stressed that it is not through books alone that one can illumine the mind. In meditation, for example, he preferred to instruct through silence, as it is in the quiet stillness of the mind that the subtle teachings of spirituality can be most effectively transmitted.

Sri Chinmoy’s favourite medium of spiritual writing is poetry. As he puts it:

“I always say that man writes prose, but it is God who writes poetry in and through man”. [1]

It is on this latter form of expression that Sri Chinmoy’s later literary activities are primarily concentrated. At the time of his passing, Sri Chinmoy had completed over 50,000 aphorism-poems as part of his “Seventy-Seven Thousand Service-Trees” project he began in 1998 to write 77,000 short poems. This collection followed an earlier collection of 10,000 short poems titled "Ten Thousand Flower Flames" which he completed in 1983, and another collection of 27,000 short poems called "Twenty-Seven Thousand Aspiration-Plants" which was completed in 1998.

“In order to write a poem, the poet must transport himself to the sphere of the Muse and lose himself there. He has to be like a flame that burns away everything but itself.” [2].

- Sri Chinmoy

Sri Chinmoy’s repertoire also includes many stories and plays which offer instructive messages about life. They are often based on traditional folk tales. Many of the plays are about famous spiritual figures. The play Siddhartha becomes the Buddha is a commonly dramatised play, and has been quite popular with mainstream audiences.

Sri Chinmoy’s work has been widely commended by scholars, professors and writers worldwide. Awards presented to Sri Chinmoy specifically for his literary achievements include the Gold Medal in Literature from the International Academy of Lutece in Paris and the Literature Award of Excellence (1993), UNSCR Society of Writers, United Nations. He was also presented with numerous honorary degrees for his role in helping to foster world harmony through literary and other means.

Sri Chinmoy left the body on October 11, 2007. However, new books are still being published using previously unpublished written materials and audio talks.

 

Footnotes

[1] Sri Chinmoy, Sri Chinmoy answers, part 07, Agni Press, 1996

[2] Sri Chinmoy, Philosopher-thinkers: the power-towers of the mind and poet-seers: the fragrance-hours of the heart in the West, Agni Press, 1998

 
Further reading