La Gratitude1

Gratitude, gratitude, gratitude.

La gratitude est une action miraculeuse en nous. Cette action miraculeuse renforce notre corps physique, purifie notre énergie vitale, élargit notre vision mentale et intensifie notre félicité psychique.

L’aspirant en nous s’efforce d’être simple, sincère, pur et humble. Tous les aspirants spirituels essaient de cultiver ces qualités en abondance. La manière la plus simple et la plus efficace de les cultiver est d’ouvrir la fleur de gratitude en notre cœur et de la faire fleurir, un pétale après l’autre. Comment ? En donnant, non seulement davantage d’importance à ce que nous possédons, mais également toute importance à ce que nous ne possédons pas.

Ce que nous possédons : une pensée illusoire, une quête illusoire et un devenir illusoire. Une pensée illusoire : nous rêvons de rencontrer la grandeur ou la réussite, que ce soit d’une manière ou d’une autre. Une quête illusoire : nous recherchons la vérité et la lumière à notre façon, là où nous pensons qu’elles doivent se trouver. Un devenir illusoire : nous voulons devenir quelque chose qui nous plaise et c’est là notre erreur la plus déplorable. En voulant nous satisfaire à notre propre manière, nous projetons en avant, consciemment ou non, le loup-vital.

Ce que nous ne possédons pas : une imploration intérieure exaltée et un sourire extérieur incommensurable. En cultivant la première, nous accroissons inévitablement le second.

Nous allons, soit de l’intérieur vers l’extérieur, soit de l’extérieur vers les profondeurs de l’être. Nous pouvons débuter notre voyage, soit avec la capacité de l’âme, soit avec celle du corps. Ultimement, ces deux capacités devront s’unir. Bien entendu, la puissance de l’âme est infiniment supérieure à celle du corps. Mais toute minime que soit cette dernière, elle devra se fondre à la capacité de l’âme. La capacité majeure du corps est de pouvoir accepter la suprématie de l’âme. Si l’âme est reconnue comme le chef Suprême, si l’occasion lui est offerte de guider, de mouler, de façonner notre destin, nous obtenons alors ce que nous ne possédons pas encore : une imploration intérieure douce, pure, exaltée et intense et un sourire extérieur sûr et incommensurable.

2 Le 2 Juillet 1977 à 5h30 — Centre Sri Chinmoy, Jamaica, New York


  1. EA2

  2. EA2

Gratitude, gratitude, gratitude.

Gratitude is a miracle-action in us. This miracle-action strengthens our physical body, purifies our vital energy, widens our mental vision and intensifies our psychic delight.

The seeker in us tries to be simple, pure, humble, sincere. Every spiritual seeker tries to cultivate these qualities in abundant measure. The easiest and most effective way to cultivate these qualities is to open the gratitude-flower and let it blossom inside our heart petal by petal. How can we do this? Not only do we have to give more importance to what we have, but we also must give all importance to what we do not have.

What we have is wishful thinking, wishful seeking, wishful becoming. Wishful thinking: We think that we shall be great or successful in some way. Wishful seeking: We seek the truth and light in our own way, in the place where we think truth and light must abide. Wishful becoming: This is the most deplorable mistake we make. We want to become something that pleases us. If we want to please ourselves in our own way, then consciously or unconsciously we bring the vital-wolf to the fore.

What we do not have is the breathless inner cry and the measureless outer smile. If we can develop the breathless inner cry, then automatically we develop the measureless outer smile.

Either from within we come without, or from without we dive deep within. We can start our journey either from the soul’s capacity or from the body’s capacity. Ultimately these two capacities have to be united. Needless to say, the soul’s capacity is infinitely greater than the body’s capacity. But the little capacity that the body has, has to be united with the soul’s capacity. The body’s greatest capacity is the acceptance of the soul’s leadership. If the soul is accepted as the supreme leader, if the soul gets the opportunity to guide, mould and shape our destiny, then we get what we do not have right now: the sweet, pure, breathless, intense inner cry and the sure, measureless outer smile.

  1. 2 July 1977, 5:30 a.m. — Sri Chinmoy Centre, Jamaica, New York

Sri Chinmoy, Everest-Aspiration, part 1.First published by Agni Press in 1977.

This is the 352nd book that Sri Chinmoy has written since he came to the West, in 1964.


If you are displaying what you've copied on another site, please include the following information, as per the license terms:

by Sri Chinmoy
From the book Everest-Aspiration, part 1, made available to share under a Creative Commons license

Close »