La charité1

Je n’aime pas la charité. J’aime la sollicitude, la vraie sollicitude. Lorsque quelqu’un me fait la charité, j’ai un sentiment d’infériorité et lorsque je fais la charité à autrui, j’ai sans aucun doute un sentiment de supériorité. Je ne veux ressentir ni de supériorité ni d’infériorité : je veux un sentiment d’égalité.

Le monde chrétien croit que la charité lui ouvre les portes du Ciel, mais il se trompe totalement, il se trompe absolument, il se trompe désespérément. La charité ne marque pas ni ne détermine un sentiment de véritable sollicitude et de véritable amour, et tant que la véritable sollicitude et le véritable amour feront défaut, les portes du Ciel ne pourront pas s’ouvrir. Elles demeureront à jamais closes. Ce n’est pas la charité, mais le sentiment d’unité qui ouvre les portes du Ciel. Faute de sentiment d’unité, toute la puissance financière, toutes les richesses matérielles et tout ce que j’offrirai à autrui ne mèneront qu’au monde de l’ignorance, un monde où prend place la danse de la supériorité et de l’infériorité.

Lorsqu’une partie de mon existence a besoin de recevoir ou d’accomplir quelque chose et qu’une autre partie vient à son secours, leur sentiment d’unité m’ouvre immédiatement les portes du Ciel. Lorsqu’une chose est belle et que mon mental aide spontanément mes yeux à en apprécier la beauté, il y a là un sentiment d’unité. Lorsque mon mental souhaite étudier une chose et que mes jambes me portent jusqu’à l’école ou la bibliothèque, il y a un sentiment d’unité.

La charité ne peut m’apporter de satisfaction. La charité ne peut m’ouvrir les portes du Ciel. Seul le sentiment d’unité peut m’apporter la satisfaction, et ce sentiment d’unité doit être développé. Lorsque j’offre à autrui la richesse matérielle, la puissance financière ou tout autre chose, je dois ressentir qu’il m’est absolument nécessaire d’accroître mon sentiment d’unité avec le monde entier. Je dois ressentir que ce n’est pas moi qui aide l’autre : c’est au contraire l’autre qui m’aide. Cette charité-là n’est pas de la charité ; loin de là. C’est mon don de soi qui agit pour réaliser mon soi supérieur, totalement et intégralement, ici dans ce monde.

Les offrandes que je fais dans un esprit d’unité m’ouvrent non seulement les portes du ciel, mais aussi celles de l’Infini, de l’Éternité et de l’Immortalité, car l’unité est le Chant premier de Vision de Dieu et Sa Danse ultime, à jamais transcendante, de Vision-Réalité. Si je veux chanter l’Hymne de Vision de Dieu, la partie la plus grande de mon être comme la partie la plus petite doivent devenir la Danse-Réalité de Dieu, en cette Réalité éternellement et à jamais transcendante.

2 Le 17 Juillet 1977 à 7h35 du matin — Stade du Lycée de Jamaica, Jamaica, New York


  1. EA50

  2. EA50

Charity1

Charity I do not like. I like concern, true concern. When someone shows me charity, I feel a sense of inferiority, and when I offer charity to someone, I undoubtedly feel a sense of superiority. I want neither a superior feeling nor an inferior feeling: what I want is an equal feeling.

The Christian world believes that charity means an open door to Heaven, but it is totally mistaken, utterly mistaken, hopelessly mistaken. Charity does not mark or determine a sense of true concern and true love, and when true concern and true love are wanting, the door of Heaven can never be open. It will always remain closed. It is not charity, but the feeling of oneness, that opens the door of Heaven. If there is no feeling of oneness, then no matter how much money-power, material wealth or anything I offer to someone, it is bound to take me to the ignorance-world where the dance of superiority and inferiority is going on.

When a part of my existence needs to receive or achieve something and another part comes to its rescue, their sense of oneness immediately opens the door of Heaven for me. If there is something beautiful, and if my mind immediately helps my eye to appreciate its beauty, then there is a oneness-feeling. If my mind wants to study something, and my legs carry me to the school or the library, then there is a oneness-feeling.

Charity cannot give me satisfaction. Charity cannot open the door of Heaven to me. It is only the feeling of oneness that can give me satisfaction, and this feeling of oneness has to be enlarged. When I give someone material wealth, money-power or something else, I have to feel that it is my very necessity to increase my own oneness-feeling for the length and breadth of the world. I have to feel that it is not I who am helping someone. It is I, on the contrary, who am being helped. This charity is not charity; far from it. It is my self-giving in order to realise my higher self totally, integrally, here in the world.

My oneness-offering not only opens the door of Heaven to me, but also opens the doors of Infinity, Eternity and Immortality, for oneness is God’s first Vision-Song and His ultimate, ever-transcending Vision-Reality-Dance. If I want to sing God’s Vision-Song, then my larger part and my smaller part have to be God’s Reality-Dance in this endlessly ever-transcending Reality.


  1. 17 July 1977, 7:35 a.m. — Jamaica High School Track, Jamaica, New York

Sri Chinmoy, Everest-Aspiration, part 2.First published by Agni Press in 1977.

This is the 353rd book that Sri Chinmoy has written since he came to the West, in 1964.

Notice:

If you are displaying what you've copied on another site, please include the following information, as per the license terms:


by Sri Chinmoy
From the book Everest-Aspiration, part 2, made available to share under a Creative Commons license

Close »